It’s On!

Deep Purple’s ‘Songs that Built Rock’ tour, that is . . . I have my ticket for the show at the O2 Arena, and am greatly looking forward to what will be my fourth Deep Purple concert. Since first seeing them on the ‘Purpendicular’ tour in 1996, I’ve caught them at Hammersmith for one of Jon Lord’s last shows with the band, and on their 2007 jaunt with Thin Lizzy and Styx – but hearing them turn it out backed up by the thirty-eight piece orchestra should really be something special. I’m also greatly looking forward to seeing Cheap Trick open the show; I’ve long regarded them as amongst the very best songwriters in rock, and it will be my first time seeing Rick, Robin and Tom live.

One of the all-time classic American bands, followed by one of the all-time classic British bands. It don’t get much better, people. Full details of the evening’s festivities will of course be supplied in early December. The only question is, will I be able to resist shelling out for Uriah Heep on the ‘Into the Wild’ tour?

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

