World Cup Fever: IV

It’s all over, the dust has settled, and I think it’s fair to say that the best team of the tournament won. As with South Africa 2010, it took a solitary extra time goal to settle the final – but thankfully, Germany and Argentina served up a far better game than Spain and the Netherlands managed to four years ago. It will take Argentina some time to get over the fact that they had so many gilt-edged chances in the final; Higuain in particular will be replaying certain moments in his head for years to come, while Lionel Messi will be similarly devastated at having made so little an impression on the grand finale of the greatest show on Earth. As I said though, Germany were more than worthy winners – and it’s fitting that a goal of such majestic quality from Mario Goetze secured their victory. Thanks to hosts Brazil for an amazing festival of football that will live long in the memory, and congratulations to Germany and Jogi Loew for moulding a fantastic group of supremely talented players into a world class unit that is even greater than the sum of its parts. True champions.

This entry was posted in Sport and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.